I splurged a bit on Christmas decorations this year…

I bought a wreath for my front door.

I bought a wreath for my front door.

We try to do our part and help out the environment by living off of aftermarket parts so other than food we stay away from buying new. This helps keep stuff out of landfills and in the west is not hard to do. I am not preaching. Everyone in this world has their part and I feel very comfortable with living my part and feel the same way about others. Well, expect for those that believe they must hoard. That is a little extreme and quite awkward. Someone should take those hoarder people who are trying to overcome their perspectives (psychology might view this predicament differently) and ship the entire contents of their house to a 3rd world country and let them hand it out. This way they stuff goes to people who will appreciate it instead of being hauled off to a dump, and the people who spent a decade or two collecting will feel as though they have accomplished great things; which they will have because some of them could clothe a whole village.

Sorry, for the tangent.

I found the wreath at CynDecor. There were so many that I thought were just awesome, plus she was local. My favorite color is green so I had to go with the green, and I thought this would look good against my green door. I’m not sure if it does or not, I just thought that. The key was also such a cute idea especially since I don’t have a chimney and my children usually want plausible explanations for their questions. So far no question yet about its size. I am crossing my fingers.

As I took this picture I marveled at the sunrise. I am not sure what’s the best way that a house should face, but my which faces directly East gives me the sunrise in my living room in the mornings which is great for beginning the day on the couch with a good book and a hot cup of coffee.

The cat always looks at me like I'm weird.

The cat always looks at me like I’m weird.

Then it gives me the most beautiful sunsets in the evenings through my dining room windows and through the kitchen window while cooking dinner. I just thought I would share.

There were so many I had to narrow it down.

There were so many I had to narrow it down.

It is always so amazing to watch while cooking.

It is always so amazing to watch while cooking.


This one was from the dining room, I had to add the words because I saw an angel.

This one was from the dining room, I had to add the words because I saw an angel.

I must now get to listening to my Red Ice Radio and get to painting. Christmas is just around the corner and those portraits aren’t going to paint themselves.

2 thoughts on “I splurged a bit on Christmas decorations this year…

  1. NIce illustrations!
    That cat looks like it’s waiting for you to step away from the food. Funny.
    Interesting comments about hoarders who have multiple issues for various reasons. Might be a good idea to sort/repurpose, and transport stuff – but we have needs here in this country –
    And, as you say, handing it out to those in need might show a new path – not as punishment, but to realize you can only wear one pair of shoes/clothes at a time and you can really help others and make a difference. The feeling of helping others might open new worlds, build self esteem…and clear out the houses for a positive purpose. Not just a show focusing on misfortunes of others and holding others up for ridicule/so viewers can laugh puff up with how much better they are. Sigh.
    Wishing you lots of energy to finish those portraits! Sounds great.

    • I never really thought about the transport stuff that deeply. I just wrote what came to mind at the time. i do think it would be more beneficial. maybe to pack it all up and go through it at the local shelter so things that you are giving away can immediately reap a reward for the person healing. Love the mouse in the hedge. i bet your neighbors were wondering what you were doing taking pictures.

Leave a Reply

