Nobody wants to claim to be like their mother…

What falls may not be a direct reflection.

What falls may not be a direct reflection.

Authentic Cool: Global Hipsters and Consumer Culture.

Ironic is the word I have been looking for to describe my feelings about the culture change I have watched rise in recent years.  It’s as though the mentality from western society has slowing spread throughout the world’s hemispheres and encompasses all societies.  One explanation is authentic cool as described by Paul Mullins.  I’m not in education and I don’t have to be contrite, and am not committed to critical reflection, but I will be honest and explain it like I see it.

I look at it like this: we are a society that watched its own self grow up on television and through comedic parlance.  We witnessed great leaps in communication and technology.  We have seen things that no other society has seen before.  (In the use of society I see our collective species as a society in whole).  We are in new territory and we are all scared shitless of ourselves because we know what we are capable of, we’ve seen it, remember.  We just stopped talking about it and started disseminating the common knowledge through these new avenues birthed before us.  We distance it from ourselves and allow it to reflect us in a myriad of ways yet not real.  Then we have nothing but younger generations trying to find themselves amongst our rubble.

This new society has become largely service industry minded: advertising, marketing, public relations, creating new business and growing what is there.  Consumerist, materialistic, service to self minded, whatever else derogatory things people can say about it.  There is a blur now between the years of consumer culture.  It is evolving so fast that everything is sort of getting jumbled up. We are being marketed and sold a new form of our own history, and we are eating it up like a fat kid eats cake.

We are all like children trying to find our way and live some form of acceptance…albeit with endless credit, the ability to blast shit, and power to create our own new forms of life (i.e. corporate monsters).

We all jump on the bandwagon at some point in our lives.

Case in point: The majority of higher education is a bubble that is going to go down like the housing market.  The more people that get higher education, the more money they have to make to pay their debt, which was money loaned out willy-nilly to anyone hoping to become the next big thing at the behest of the college that needed the funds to ‘grow’ their university under the paradigm of infinite economic growth.

Now I am not really sure what goes on in these big marketing meetings where people brainstorm back and forth what they think will help sell stuff, but frankly I am getting sick of being sold anything.  I don’t need more stuff so someone can make their numbers rise by 2% and get another raise which takes more money out of the mouths of babes.  Some want to argue it doesn’t but when a father has to take a second job to feed his children it does.  Oh yeah, I forgot, the argument is also that the man shouldn’t of had children that he couldn’t afford, but he couldn’t afford them because someone above him wanted to be selfish and take more than they needed so there wasn’t enough to go down the line and make it  around the table.  I’m sure that logic works in the Origin of Species, but not in 21st century or does it?

I know that I take for advantage the fact that we have electric lights and toilets inside our homes, but I feel the need to have more going back into the earth than being taken out.  I also feel the need to spend more time without cell towers and electricity buzzing around my head all the time.  I don’t think that amassing more stuff is making me better in anyway.

I conclude I am just like my mom…she wanted to raise good children who respected others and loved one another.  She wanted to raise children that were thoughtful and held a good work ethic.  She wanted children who showed that she accomplished her goals.  She just wanted to live her life, freely.

No amount of consumerism or materials will accomplish those goals for me.

To me it is ironic, the thing which we hope not to be, we so desperately become.

…and this place is great, kind of, when it agrees with me anyways.

There are lots of ironic things that can be found amongst its pages.

4 thoughts on “Nobody wants to claim to be like their mother…

  1. This is a thoughtful response to big questions that seem to me to revolve around feeling “authentic,” and I accept that this notion of feeling that one is being real and representing their true self is terribly ambiguous and individually specific. If I can be simplistic instead of being densely analytic, I think much of the question does return to many people feeling alienated or displaced in some sense and wanting to feel “real,” and frankly we reach that sentiment in many different ways, and for some of us the mechanisms for finding oneself are not at all in consumer culture whereas others find something comforting if not authentic in the world of things.

    • Thank you for visiting and commenting. We can’t reach conclusions without thoughtful conversation. I understand that lots of people find something comforting and maybe authentic in the world of new things. As if finding something else could help define one just a little more. I enjoy getting something new to go with my little house. I do also think many a problem is brought about by the bombardment of propoganda, oh, I mean marketing from such a young age. People are being told they need to be something certain to be authentic and this is getting greatly jumbled up in the name of profits. I understand that people want to make money, but this is not the problem it is the way we go about doing so and to the nth degree. Of course this is a greatly complex situation that encompasses many generations and cannot be solved in a few blog posts, but we do need to be looking at these things now. Best Regards.

Leave a Reply

