Don’t Listen to the Man Driving the Black Sedan


Sometimes I think my brain gets fatigued and I end up getting influenced by the corporate new world order. Influenced to live a way of life in which I’m told to leave my children under the care of someone else while I venture out to make large sums of money for someone else…and maybe a little for me.

I ended up getting whisked away with the dreams of cruising the Mediterranean and seeing the sites. This of course happened while I sat across from a bald guy in a closet office on the third floor of an office building. He had contacted me about an offer that could make me a very rich woman…not to mention all the other perks.
I just had to learn the ropes, so I buckled down and in a week I was licensed to sell *drum roll please* insurance.

Really?

Why did I do that?

I let money completely blind me for about 3 weeks and then after days of cold calling random people for 8 hours a day the artist inside of me began to scream!

I got sick. I’m not sure if it was all the calling or trying to learn all the ways to psychologically screw with people’s minds to make them buy insurance. It may have been both. I stopped the whole public relations and advertising bit for the very same reason.

How do people live everyday knowing they are manipulating others to make a few more dollars?
The last time that I tried to take on a job other than art, I got very sick. I’m reminded now of inflamed carotid arteries.

I think I may need some Jungian analysis or I may just be on to something.

I do know that I got the message this time around. I am not a person who sells their integrity for a paycheck.

I have now begun to put as much effort into my art business as I did into becoming an insurance salesman and things are actually looking up. I only needed to be despised by people to understand that I wasn’t giving myself enough credit when it came to my talents as an artist.

I will be launching an actual website soon. I allowed the professionals be professionals and took some great advice from so many who continued to encourage me to follow my heart and I am thankful for that.

I will leave you with some creations.

A lovely tribute piece created for a dojo.

A lovely tribute piece created for a dojo.

Spy theme

Spy theme

Acrylic on a reclaimed cupboard door.

Acrylic on a reclaimed cupboard door.

Beautiful Pet Portrait

Beautiful Pet Portrait

Piece for a Vegan restaurant in Memphis, TN made on reclaimed antique desktop.

Piece for a Vegan restaurant in Memphis, TN made on reclaimed antique desktop.

Leave a Reply

