Mystery Build Project 2014…Build a Dream

My Dream

My Dream

I am an artist down to the deepest depths of my soul.  I love to create.  So, this made me very excited when I ran across an artist competition like no other.

http://www.mysterybuild.com

Most art competitions are all the same.  You pay an entry fee and you send a picture of your painting.  Then you wait for the judges to say who wins.

Not MysteryBuild.  You pay your entry fee, then you receive a box in the mail that no one else knows what is inside, unless they too have paid the entry fee into the contest.  Then one must only use the contents of said box and create a project according to the theme of the contest.

This kind of contest is the type that I loathed for as a child.  I love this stuff.  I spent so much time, in between pregnancy, raising 3 children, having a baby, and nursing a newborn infant to get this thing ready by the deadline.   Sometimes I worked while nursing.

Sometimes there just isn't enough hours in the day.

There just are not enough hours in the day.

I used the available materials to build for the contest my actual dream backyard.  I have been working on this since we moved into our house 4 years ago.  Not the Mysterybuild project, but converting the backyard into an artist’s dream yard.

It has come a long way.

January 2012

January 2012

June 2012

June 2012

May 2013

May 2013

May 2013

May 2013

August 2014

August 2014

August 2014

August 2014

My husband has been kind, and just lets me be when it comes to the backyard. (especially since I have left his bike jumps alone) Though the neighbor did say the jumps look like we buried someone in the backyard.  No cops have been called upon as of yet.

But, once I finished building this project of my dream, he can now see what my ranting over “my Giverny” has been all about.  I think he understands now.

It is quite difficult to visualize the dreams of someone else.

Hunter S. Thompson...it is dream after all.

Hunter S. Thompson in my hammock…it is dream after all.

Side entrance into rose garden

Side entrance into the rose garden

A sense of scale.  I built everything on a !/4 inch architectural scale.

A sense of scale. I built everything on a !/4 inch architectural scale.

I am hoping to win this competition, which will give me major funds toward my dream backyard.  That will be an awesome day.

Voting on the People’s Choice Award begins today, and voting is incredibly easy; no signing up nonsense, just click and you’re finished.

If you would so kindly follow the link http://www.mysterybuild.com and vote for my project I would be much appreciative.  My project is Miller’s Place #277.  I found it on about page 9 or so.

The Miller’s Place comes from a huge iron sign that my grandfather made for the entrance to his property.  My grandfather has since past, and his land was sold by his widow (his 2nd wife).  This property was land that had been in the Miller family since the Revolutionary War land bounties in the late 1700’s.  Sadly, I nor any of my siblings will be able to inherit such property, but I will give a proper place for the sign somewhere in my backyard.

My grandfather's sign

My grandfather’s sign

http://mysterybuild.com/art-project-2014/page:9/Millers-Place#f6DRbbiylqKixiIE.01

Leave a Reply

